Happy New Year

It’s hard to believe it’s 2010. This year will be 4th Edition’s 3rd year (and my blog’s second). I’m looking forward to all new monsters, dungeon tiles, and of course, Player’s Handbook 3.  PHB3 will have additional Psion builds and hopefully some new Psion feats and items to use in my game. I’m also looking forward to the Dark Sun setting. I enjoyed the original novels but not so much the setting when I played it in 2E. Thematically it felt like a mix of  Planescape and Dune, and it never really jazzed me. I’m the only person I know who enjoyed Spelljammer, so you don’t have to follow my opinion. This time I think they’ll do a much better job than before. What I find interesting is how they will adapt the 4th edition philosphy to the setting.

As for this blog, I’m looking forward to trying out some new moves at the table for improving my play and the experiences of my game-mates. I’ll share here what worked and what didn’t, and continue to review player tools, talk about how to handle playing through various fantasy tropes, and how to work with a DM following all the great advice out there on the interwebs.

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. Mike, I don’t ever remember you being into games back in school. Where you a closet gamer or is this a new venture for you?

Comments are closed.